top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChris Stanley

3) The quest for working brake lights

Updated: Aug 27, 2019

Time to address the next important job - the brake lights.


August 24rd 2019


I now have a shortlist of jobs I need to address in order to safely get my car back on the road and the first job, the indicators, has now been ticked off! The next item on the agenda has to be the non-working brake lights, a definite safety issue as I'm sure you'll agree. I already know that the tail lights work when I switch on the headlights so let's begin a process of elimination. Logically the first thing to check will be the brake light switch but where could it be? I can't see anything obvious in the region of the brake pedal to I decide to to a little research on the internet. I found a very useful exploded diagram of the braking system which shows a hydraulically actuated brake light switch screwed into a union in the brake line, right up front, next to the radiator. Opening the bonnet I find it straight away, it looks a little bit crusty but otherwise in reasonable condition. I switch on the ignition, grab a small screwdriver and use it to short the terminals on the switch... Wahay! The brake lights illuminate nicely which tells me that I have a faulty switch. I get a new one on order and will fit it as soon as it arrives.


Screwdriver shorting the terminals on the brake light switch.

And the brake lights illuminate nicely.

Replacement hydraulic switch for brake lights has been ordered..


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page