top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChris Stanley

5) Little annoyances

Two steps forwards, one step back.


August 27th 2019


Well, some of the items I ordered arrived today. The new wipers with rubber pegs, the oil and oil can, and finally the nice new leather keyring.


I filled my new oil can to give it a quick test and wouldn't you just believe it? It doesn't work. I pumped and pumped the lever but nothing comes out of the spout so I'll have to return that one to Amazon for a refund.

Another little annoyance regards the keyring I ordered from an online Morris parts dealer. The photo on the website clearly shows the Morris logo with the word "Morris" printed underneath. What arrived was one that said "Morris Minor 1000". Sigh. A small detail I know but my car is not a Minor 1000, it's a Series II. Right make, wrong model. I have emailed the company and await a response.


Well at least the wipers look good so I went ahead and fitted them. The new rubber pegs were quite a squeeze to get into the holes but now another job can be ticked off the list.



New wipers and pegs waiting to be fitted.

So what else did I do today? Well I gave the carpets an initial vacuum which got the worst of the dirt out but I think they will need to come out for a proper clean sometime. Not a high priority.

I also pumped all the tyres up to 25psi anticipating a little test drive down the local lanes soon and I decided to take a look at the windscreen washer. I took out the bottle, gave it a proper wash and filled it with a 50/50 mix of concentrated screenwash and water. I also reattached the tube which had popped off the washer nozzles under the bonnet. After a fair bit of pumping and no movement of water through the pipes I'm left with two possibilities. There's either a blockage in the pipe somewhere or the pump isn't working. Note that this car has a manual pump rather than an electric one.



Attempting to reinstate the screen washer.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page