top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChris Stanley

23) Finishing the wheel and other little bits

Today the Morris gains a nice new boot carpet.


December 18th 2019



Today a large box arrived on my doorstep, it was like Christmas had come early... Well, for the car at least.


Inside the box was a brand new tailored boot carpet and an envelope containing a nice new braided fuel hose to connect the fuel pump to the carburettor. The existing pipe is is a clear plastic one which has become very brittle and yellowed over the years and I struggle to believe it's an original fitment. I'm guessing the original pipe would have been made from rubber but I stand to be corrected.


Some new toys.

Braided fuel line and new fibre washers.
Lovely new boot carpet to match the interior one.

Before I get to those jobs however, in my last post I promised to update you all on the progress of my spare wheel refurbishment so here it is...

After much more sanding, the wheel was about as good as it needed to be for painting. I'm still a little concerned about the pitting around the part where the tyre bead sits but I'm hoping the paint will partially fill that.


The sanded wheel ready for painting.

For paint, I used smooth black Hammerite which is suitable for painting directly onto rust. I gave both sides of the wheel a nice thick coat and may return to it with a second coat in a few days if I think it needs one. It looks like the paint has gone some way towards filling those pits around the rim so things are looking good!


The freshly painted wheel.

And the underside.

After setting the wheel aside to dry, I unrolled my new carpet and installed it into the boot. A perfect fit.


New boot carpet fitted.

Now comes the time to tackle the fuel line. I thought I'd be clever here (always a prelude to disaster) and attempt to film this so I could embed a little video into my blog. Now there's a reason I don't normally make videos, it's because I'm extremely bad at it and I have a basic camera which isn't really up to the job. Sure enough, after a lot of messing around I finally finished the work and had it all on video...Or so I thought. When I played it back, only a small part worked and the rest was corrupted. Well that was a waste of time!

So apologies for the lack of detailed photos but I didn't take many, thinking I had everything on video. I have taken a couple of screenshots from the part of the video which did work which is why the quality is lower.


I put an old rag into the engine bay, below the carb to catch any drips of fuel before undoing the banjo bolt and then the bolt that connects the old pipe to the pump.


From video: Preparing to loosen the banjo bolt with a 7/16" spanner.
From video: Removing banjo bolt, careful not to drop the internal filter.

Once this was removed it was a simple case of fitting the new braided line, starting at the fuel pump side which has an internal 'O' ring seal. Once that was secure I routed the line through to the carb and tightened the banjo bolt, using two new fibre washers. I then turned on the ignition so that the pump pressurised the system and looked for leaks. There were a couple of minor drips which disappeared after tightening the bolts a little more.


The old plastic fuel line after removal.
The shiny new braided line, fitted and looking the part!

The last thing to arrive in the post was a tube of windscreen sealant. This should hopefully plug the two small leaks I have without having to replace the windscreen rubber. A job for another day I think!

New tube of Screen Seal ready for a future job.



23 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page