top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChris Stanley

15) Tying up loose ends

Just a few final jobs to get us back on the road.


September 29th 2019



This morning I received the wide tyre valve stems I'd been waiting for, so the first thing I did was to take my back wheels over to the local garage to get the new tyres fitted. Finally I'm getting closer to getting my Morris back on the road again!



Removing the diff filler & drain plugs.

Before I refitted the back wheels, I decided to drain the old differential oil and refill with some new good quality gear oil. Fortunately the diff filler and drain plugs came out with very little resistance which I was relieved about because it looks like a previous heavy-handed mechanic has beaten seven bells out of one of the plugs.






Checking the old diff sludge for debris.

I positioned my oil pan under the diff and watched as some very black and sludgy treacle drained out. I gave it plenty of time to allow every last drop to drain before running my fingers through the lumpy sludge to check there was no metal debris in there. Fortunately there wasn't. I also shone my torch through the filler hole as I slowly turned the prop shaft and all the gear teeth looked to be in very good condition which was a relief.


Finally I refilled the diff with good quality gear oil before refitting the back wheels.






Filling the diff with some nice new oil.

Finally, back on all four wheels.

Before she's ready to roll again I had to refit the air cleaner that I'd previously cleaned and re-oiled. A nice simple 5 minute job and it was ready to go.

One final little job for today was to fit a new 'Morris' engine plate onto the rocker cover. Mine was missing so I ordered a brand new one which had arrived in the post yesterday. Two pop rivets and it was securely fixed to the engine and looking good.



Refitting the air cleaner.

Nice new nameplate riveted to the rocker cover.

That will do for today but tomorrow is test drive day!


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page